Week 12- algorithmic art

1. Get a piece of paper and two different color markers (purple and pink)
2. Choose two of your favorite songs ( one up beat song, and one slow song)
3. To the rhythm/ beat of the song draw lines with the purple marker
4. Repeat step #3 with the pink marker

   With this procedure I was curious to see what image would appear creating lines to the beat of a song. I love music and have a hard time sitting still when a good song comes on. I usually tap my foot or snap my fingers with the beat. I was curious to see what a beat would look like on paper.
   I chose two songs that were completely different tempos to make sure the lines were different. The first song I chose was called “CUBA” by Calvin Harris. This song is represented by purple dashes. The beat was very very fast and it was 4 minutes and 30 seconds long which resulted in many lines. I kept having to overlap the dashes because I had to draw them so fast and for a long period of time. The second song was “Capri” by Colbie Callait. This song was very slow and three minutes long. This song was represented in pink. There were few pink dashes and they were very spaced out because the beat was slow and song was significantly shorter. Overall this was a cool experiment and I am happy with my results

image

Leave a Reply

